Counting putts and chip-ins
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 11:56 pm
I had the following happen yesterday on a par 3 hole:
Tee shot stopped on the green.
2nd shot: Putt rolled past the hole, off the green and down a slope.
3rd shot: Pitch shot from well off the green went into the hole.
When I viewed the scorecard after the round, it said I had 0 chip-ins.
What happened here? That third shot was definitely a chip in. Is there a rule, or perhaps a bug in the scoring, that a shot can only count as a chip-in if there were zero putts on a hole? For that matter, does it count all strokes after the first putt as putts, regardless of where the ball ends up? An instance comes to mind where a putt that missed the hole rolled off the green and into a water hazard, and I had to drop and take a penalty stroke. It would seem especially odd if all of those strokes counted as putts. I've also had multiple instances where a putt from the fairway a couple of feet off the green went into the hole and was counted as a chip-in (doesn't matter that I was using my putter).
Tee shot stopped on the green.
2nd shot: Putt rolled past the hole, off the green and down a slope.
3rd shot: Pitch shot from well off the green went into the hole.
When I viewed the scorecard after the round, it said I had 0 chip-ins.
What happened here? That third shot was definitely a chip in. Is there a rule, or perhaps a bug in the scoring, that a shot can only count as a chip-in if there were zero putts on a hole? For that matter, does it count all strokes after the first putt as putts, regardless of where the ball ends up? An instance comes to mind where a putt that missed the hole rolled off the green and into a water hazard, and I had to drop and take a penalty stroke. It would seem especially odd if all of those strokes counted as putts. I've also had multiple instances where a putt from the fairway a couple of feet off the green went into the hole and was counted as a chip-in (doesn't matter that I was using my putter).